You should already be aware that the 2017 Rotherham Wheelers Presentation Evening and Christmas Social will be held on Friday 8 December 2017 at the Three Horseshoes Public House, Wickersley.

Amongst the prizes to be awarded that evening is the John Atkinson Trophy which was commissioned by the club in memory of a much loved and respected member who sadly passed away in tragic circumstances in 2016.

The trophy is awarded annually on the basis of a ballot of members to the member who is ‘considered to have done the most for the club during the previous year’.  

Depicting a road cycle, this unique trophy was crafted in Sterling silver by Steve Viney, and it is hoped that members will see this as both a lasting memorial to John and a means of recognising the efforts of the member who is considered to have done most on behalf of the club”.  I have attached a photograph of the trophy for your information.

Last year’s worthy recipient was Doug Manning.

This year’s ballot will be held at the next club General Meeting which commences at 19:00 Monday 13 November 2017 at the Three Horseshoes public house, Wickersley.

It is hoped that the trophy will be presented by a member of John’s family at this year’s annual presentation evening.

For the award to have the status which it deserves it is important that ALL members consider making a nomination and that as many members as possible participate in the ballot of members. 

The following methodology will apply:


a)  Members will be permitted to nominate only one person each, who MUST be either a life, honorary, full, junior or 2nd claim member of Rotherham Wheelers Cycling Club.

b)  Nominations may be made at any time from the date of this notice.

c)  Nominations should be made either in person or by email to the club treasurer by 24:00 Saturday 11 November 2017.

d)  On Sunday 12 November 2017 the club treasurer will circulate a list of names of nominees to the membership by email, Facebook and the club website and will prepare ballot papers showing the names of all nominees.

e)  The award will be made on the basis of a ballot of members cast at the general meeting to be held on Monday 13 November 2017 and the result will be announced at the presentation evening on Friday 8 December 2017.

f)  Members unable to attend the general meeting on Monday 13 November 2017 may cast a vote by notifying the club treasurer BY EMAIL of their preferred nominee following circulation of the list of nominees on Sunday 12 November 2017 and must do so prior to 17:00 Monday 13 November 2017.

g)  Proxy votes received after 17:00 Monday 13 November 2017 will not be counted.

Kind Regards

Dave Buxton

Treasurer and Membership Secretary


mobile: 07751 518488